Boxy pouch with concealed seams (French seams) tutorial

This is the first tutorial I have ever written.   I hope it helps.  Contact me if you have any questions.

I love the Three Bears boxy little pouch tutorial.  The pouch is so cute!

  http://threebears.wordpress.com/2007/10/15/little-boxy-pouch-tutorial/#comments

I took it one step further and gave the pouch an interfaced- lining with concealed seams (a.k.a. French seams).  The fleece interfacing gave the pouch a lot of body, and the French Seams hid all the raw edges.  Here is how I did it.

Assemble your supplies.  I used:

  • 2 x exterior fabric  – 11” x 9”
  • 2 x interior fabric – 11” x 8 ½ “
  • 2  x fusible fleece interfacing – 11” x 8 ½ “
  • 1 x 10” zipper

Boxy Pouch with Concealed Seams

Press the fusible fleece interfacing onto the interior fabric. 

Lay the zipper face down onto the right side of the exterior fabric.  Pin and sew (with a zipper foot). 

Boxy Pouch with Concealed Seams (4)

Once the zipper is sewn to the exterior fabric, place one of the lining fabric pieces, WRONG SIDE UP, directly on top of the zipper (sandwiching the zipper between the interior and exterior fabrics).  Line up the edges and stitch in place right along the top. 

Boxy Pouch with Concealed Seams (5)

Do the same for the other side of the zipper.

Open it up so that the WRONG sides of both fabrics are facing each other.   Press, and then topstitch along the zipper.  This will keep the fabric from getting caught in the zipper.

Boxy Pouch with Concealed Seams (8)

With RIGHT SIDES TOGETHER, sew the bottom seam of the exterior fabrics together.  Do the same for the interior fabrics.  Turn so the interior is inside the exterior. 

Boxy Pouch with Concealed Seams (10)Boxy Pouch with Concealed Seams (11)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Let’s make the French seams.  With exterior fabric on the OUTSIDE,  and the interior lined up within, place the bottom seams over the zipper.  Sew the side seams.  Trim the raw edges close to the seam. 

Boxy Pouch with Concealed Seams (13)

Now turn this inside out and tuck the raw edges in as close to the seam as you can.  Sew this edge approximately ¼” from the edge.  This will conceal the raw edge.  Do the same for the other side.

Boxy Pouch with Concealed Seams (16)

 

Turn the pouch right side out again.

 Boxy Pouch with Concealed Seams (18)

 

We are going to box the corners with French seams.  Box the 4 corners (pinch the corners into triangles that will be sewn and cut off) as long or as short as you want them.  Sew the seam through the exterior and interior fabrics ON THE EXTERIOR again.    Trim the raw edges close to the seams. 

Boxy Pouch with Concealed Seams (19)

Turn inside out and once again, tuck the raw edges in as much as you can.  Sew the 4 edges.

Boxy Pouch with Concealed Seams (20)

Boxy Pouch with Concealed Seams (22)

Turn it right side out and you are done!   This is what mine looks like.  Have fun!

Boxy Pouch with Concealed Seams (23)

13 Responses to “Boxy pouch with concealed seams (French seams) tutorial”


  1. 1 Bill Bartmann_ September 9, 2009 at 8:11 pm

    Great site…keep up the good work.

  2. 2 Bill Bartmann September 14, 2009 at 11:10 am

    Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,

    A definite great read…

    -Bill-Bartmann

  3. 3 Bill Bartmann September 17, 2009 at 6:50 am

    Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,

    A definite great read…:)

    -Bill-Bartmann

  4. 4 Bill Bartmann September 22, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Great site…keep up the good work. 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..

    -Bill-Bartmann

  5. 5 Tony Brown September 24, 2009 at 2:33 pm

    Hey, I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog!…..I”ll be checking in on a regularly now….Keep up the good work! 🙂

  6. 6 Online Stock Trading September 29, 2009 at 9:31 pm

    Hey, I found your blog in a new directory of blogs. I dont know how your blog came up, must have been a typo, anyway cool blog, I bookmarked you. 🙂

  7. 7 patirica with ziamariadesigns August 7, 2011 at 11:10 pm

    Hi,

    Sorry can’t find a current contact for you, so thought I would go to the source. Wanted to drop you a note with a link to a page that I have prepared on my blog. I have posted it just today but have not publicized it to anyone yet. I wanted to make sure that you agree to the posting for your tutorial/photo and links before I publicize it on my blog.

    It’s not the most visually appealing final list but the best I could gather at this point in my bloggy world knowledge. Let me know as soon as possible whether you agree. Thanks

    Thought you would like this print-friendly version of “Zia Maria Designs: Zia’s 25 Top Boxy Bag and Pouch Finds {Tutorials}”: http://www.printfriendly.com/print?url=http://ziamariadesigns.blogspot.com/p/25-boxy-bags-and-pouches-to-make.html


    Brought to you by PrintFriendly.com

    Patricia, Designer Zia Maria

    Visit me at: http://www.ziamariadesigns.blogspot.com

    Learning to SHARE™ everyday, everywhere with everyone
    Saved by God’s Grace: Heaven is a free gift. It is not earned or deserved.
    Hopeless Sinner Apart from God: All humans are sinners. You cannot save yourself.
    Attributes of Mercy and Justice: God is merciful and loves you and does not want to punish you, but He is also
    holy and just and must punish your sin.
    Real Solution for the Problem: Jesus Christ is the infinite God Man who died on the cross and rose from the dead
    to pay the penalty for your sins and to purchase a place for you in heaven.
    Eternal Life: Jesus is in heaven now offering you the gift of eternal life. You accept this gift by repenting of your
    sins, trusting in Jesus Christ alone and the work He did, and accepting Him as Savior and Lord over your life.

  8. 8 Toni August 8, 2011 at 3:35 am

    Yes!! I’ve been looking for a boxy pouch tutorial with french seams all day! Thank you so much!

  9. 10 Carolynn Scoffield September 30, 2011 at 9:49 pm

    I studied your instructions to make the Boxy pouch- and I understand all of the directions- except for one thing. I do not understand the reason for having the lining pieces cut 1/2″ smaller than the exterior pieces? It seems to me that would cause some difficulty when you place the bottom seam aligned with the zipper and stich the side seams together- if the lining is smaller than the exterior fabric? Please explain this to me? I need to make several of these for my 3 daughters and their friends! Thanks for the info!

    • 11 lizzetish October 2, 2011 at 11:00 am

      I make the inside lining shorter than the outside on purpose. It helps to keep a smooth lining. When I made them the same size, the lining would bunch up.
      Try 1/4″.
      L


  1. 1 Boxy Pouch as a Cord Carrier, Tutorial | Whipped Out Trackback on December 29, 2009 at 3:41 am
  2. 2 Technique a week for September Trackback on September 7, 2010 at 2:35 pm

Leave a Reply

